Art Mitchell Memorial Enduro Chillicothe Enduro Riders ACES Round 4 Ray, Ohio June 5th, 2011 "A *Ringer* at Round Four"

By: Steve Wheeler

Photos: Phil Bartow, Steve Wheeler

Factory Husaberg's Nick Fahringer took advantage of some down time from the NEPG circuit to return home to southern Ohio and polish his skills in his old stomping grounds. It was the Art Mitchell, that Nick got his first overall win. On this day, he would demonstrate why he is finding himself in the hunt for the podium at nearly every NEPG round and inching ever closer to that elusive first national win.

Fahringer sent notice to the other ACES contenders that he wasn't just here to play, dropping 9 in the first section with the KTM's of fellow NEPG competitor Zach Klamfoth and defending ACES champ Josh Gaitten another point back. Former national contender and longtime local favorite Robbie Jenks and his GasGas dropped 14 to start the day in an uncharacteristic 4th place, exactly where he would be at days end.

Fahringer went on to claim the best score in all but one section, in which Gaitten came out one on top. When the scores were tallied, Nick's total of 24 was three points better than Gaitten's and he would once again etch his name on the rotating trophy. Most would be hard pressed to remember the last time that a string of four enduros in southern Ohio had four different winners.

Although Fahringer was able to scramble the AA class, in the other A classes it was the usual suspects at the top. Nathan Bidwell and his KTM were at the top of the 200 A class for the fourth time this year but GG mounted Jason Smith nearly broke that streak as he dropped 66 to Bidwell's 65. Cary Eberts edged Mark McGrath on the E checks as both of the 250A riders dropped 34, putting them firmly inside the top 10. Pat Patterson (KTM) got his first win of the season in the Open A class, the Yamaha of Jeff Johnson made it two in a row in the Senior class and KTM mounted Karl Fahringer (Nick's dad) made it two for two in the S.Sr. A class at Chillicothe this year.

In the B division, Vet B rider Jason Estep (KTM) capitalized on the misfortune of point leader Cody Meeks as the rocks of Chillicothe dealt a fatal blow to Meeks' KTM. KTM mounted Grant Smith held the lead in the B ranks for the majority of the race, only to have the overall snatched from his grasp in the later stages and settled for Open B honors. It was at check 8 that Estep and a few others including Overall A winner Eberts seemed to get lost in a good way and distance themselves from their competition. Even Nick Fahringer thought he got lost in the section as he found his father waiting for him as he arrived at the out check. In other B class action, Yamaha

pilot Chad Campbell (250) and KTM mounted Ed Snyder (Senior) each made their 2011 ACES debut, capturing 1st in their respective classes.

The C classes also saw first time winners as Jacob McManis (Kaw) and KTM rider Hunter Stairs each sat proudly atop their classes after another in a string of 2011 ACES events that lived up to the meaning of the word enduro. I'm sure Stairs had plenty to talk about with his riding buddies on the trip back to North Carolina. Especially since one riding partner, Troy Livecchi, managed 4th in the Open C class after dropping 315 points without houring out.

The Appalachian Championship Enduro Series (ACES) is a traditional format enduro series and our 2011 season continues August 14th in McArthur, Ohio at the "Little Burr". We would like to thank the following sponsors for contributing to the growth of our series and supporting our riders: Osburn Signs, KTM, Husqvarna, EVS, Enduro Engineering, EBC, SCOTT, KENDA, MSR, T&E News, Point View Cycles, Smith's Power Sports, Caton's Cycle Center, Sport Cycles, Wheelsports, JM Cycles and Ohio Motorcycle.

Overall: Nick Fahringer (Hsb) Overall A: Cary Eberts (KTM) Overall B: Jason Estep (KTM)

AA: 1. Nick Fahringer (Hsb); 2. Josh Gaitten (KTM); 3.Zach Klamfoth (KTM); 4. Robbie Jenks (GG); 5. Morgan Green (KTM)

200A: 1. Nathan Bidwell (KTM); 2. Jason Smith (GG)

250A: 1. Cary Eberts (KTM); 2. Mark McGrath (KTM); 3.Russ Cherry (Yam); 4. Michael Jolly (Hsq); 5.Tyler Chadwell (KTM)

Open A: 1. Pat Patterson (KTM); 2.Brian Rickard (KTM); 3. Robert Heinzerling (KTM); 4. John Grimm (Hon)

Vet A: 1. Jeff Anderson (Hon); 2. Brian Hollingshead (KTM); 3. Brian Sovak (Yam); 4. John Yerkey (KTM); 5. Marty Kehlmeier (Hsb)

Sr. A: 1. Jeff Johnson (Yam); 2. Lloyd Shaffer (Yam); 3. Mike VanCise (KTM); 4. Wayne Perdue (KTM); 5. Dan Knecht (KTM)

S.Sr. A: Karl Fahringer (KTM); 2. Scott Klamfoth (KTM); 3. Roger Nichols (KTM); 4. Rick Lanning (KTM); 5. Mark Lederle (KTM)

200 B: 1. Cody Meeks (KTM)

250 B: 1. Chad Campbell (Yam); 2. Brad Geyer (KTM); 3. Brady Riley (KTM) 4. Andy Matheny (Hon); 5. Christopher Knight (Kaw)

Open B: 1. Grant Smith (KTM); 2. Michael Tong (Kaw);

Vet B: 1. Jason Estep (KTM); 2. Greg Kalwasinskli (KTM); 3. Greg Olenic (GG); 4. Ed Steele (KTM)

Sr. B: 1. Ed Snyder (KTM); 2. Kenny Hoyle (KTM); 3. Robert Gorst (KTM); (KTM);

4. Charles Chriswell (KTM); 5. Dino Colaianni (KTM)

S.SR. B: 1. Ron Valdman (KTM); 2. Mike Branham (Hon); 3. Mark Best (KTM);

4. Bryan Giacomozzi (KTM)

Masters: 1. Marvin Popp (KTM); 2. Lennie Rhoades (KTM); 3. Frank Erbe (Yam);

4. Adrian Luntzel (KTM)

Schoolboy C: 1. Jacob McManis (Kaw); 2. Vinnie Petrella (KTM); 3. Kelby Kisor (Hsq)

4. Daniel Hinjosa (KTM); 5. Logan Mullins (Hon)

C: 1, Hunter Stairs (KTM); 2. Adam Clark (KTM); 3. Matt Kemp (Kaw);

4. Troy Livecchi (KTM); 5. Joshua Shellhous (Suz)









