Moonshine Enduro New Straitsville Enduro Riders ACES Round 2 New Straitsville, Ohio April 10, 2011 "Moonshine Has Everyone Seeing Green"

By: Steve Wheeler

Photos: Phil Bartow

One hundred and fifty riders turned out for the Moonshine Enduro in New Straitsville, Ohio, all asking the same question - Could this be a kinder and gentler New Straitsville event that saw only 28 finishers in 2010? Trail boss Jeff Anderson started the rumors when he posted that a 3 would win it. Was he imbibing in some of the event's namesake local beverage, or just looking for someone to take the bait? With the rains that hit much of southern Ohio sparing the New Straitsville area, many were thinking that just maybe.... It turns out Anderson was right, a 3 would have won it, but it took a 12 by KTM pilot Travis Green to do so.

It was the 200 KTM of Trevor Kline that set the pace in the first section, carding a 2 and besting Green by a point. The steep hills and creeks proved difficult for many with scores in the mid-teens for some "A" riders and many of the "B" riders tallying scores in the mid-twenties. Cody Meeks (KTM), fresh off his Overall B from Chillicothe, followed Kline's lead and put his 200 KTM at the top of the "B" class. Honda mounted Andy Matheny matched Meeks' score of 6 and served notice that he was prepared to defend his 2010 Moonshine title and take home another jug.

Green evened things up in the second section as he, brother Morgan (KTM), Cary Eberts (KTM) and Mark McGrath (KTM) all went 2 with Kline dropping 3 in a section that was drastically shortened a few weeks before the event due to a hunting lease. Although nobody was happy about the loss of land, they were thankful that trail-masters Anderson, Jenks and Judson had to ease up a bit. It was this section too that Matheny applied the pressure to Meeks as the two riders went 4 and 5, putting Matheny on top for much of the remainder of the day.

It would be the third section that Travis Green would take control of the "A" class for good, dropping 3, Morgan 4, and the other front-runners 5. It was Michael Jolly and his Husqvarna that did the best job conquering the steep hills in this section and avoiding the carnage of others as he turned a remarkable 2:04. The top six "B" riders dropped eight points in the section, leaving their order unchanged. After 31.6 actual miles, 39 riders had retired for the day – so much for kinder and gentler.

Not until check 10 did Meeks gain control of the "B" class. It was here that Matheny made a major error as he and the rest of his row went into the next to last section 3 minutes late, perhaps confusing the gas available immediately before the check for a gas stop. From here, Meeks would pilot his trusty 200 to a 5 point win over Open "B" riders Travis Jarvis (KTM) and Dave Patterson (Husky) on his way to his second straight Overall "B".

At days end, it was the Green brothers going 1-2 overall with Cary Eberts sliding into the 3rd slot and earning Overall "A" honors from the 250 "A" class. In the "C" ranks, KTM pilot Vinnie Petrella turned in a stellar ride from the Schoolboy class, dropping 43 points, which would have put him inside the top 10 in the "B" division.

As the day drew to a close, some riders walked away with a feeling of accomplishment from conquering this enduro two years in a row as they placed their ceramic prizes safely away. Some were happy to redeem

themselves this year, while others were reliving what cost them a jug and vowing to be back to claim theirs next year.

The Appalachian Championship Enduro Series (ACES) is a traditional format enduro series and our 2011 season continues May 22nd in Shade, Ohio, at the Lost in Lodi (Sox Brookhart Memorial) Enduro. We would like to thank the following sponsors for contributing to the growth of our series and supporting our riders: Osburn Signs, KTM, Husqvarna, EVS, Enduro Engineering, EBC, SCOTT, KENDA, MSR, T&E News, Point View Cycles, Smith's Power Sports, Caton's Cycle Center, Sport Cycles, Wheelsports, JM Cycles and Ohio Motorcycle.

Overall: Travis Green (KTM), Overall A: Cary Eberts (KTM), Overall B: Cody Meeks (KTM)

AA: 1. Travis Green (KTM), 2. Morgan Green (KTM), 3. Trevor Kline (KTM), 4. Mark Hyde (KTM), 5. Jeff Melik (GG)

200A: 1. Nathan Bidwell (KTM), 2. Mike Molnar (Hsq), 3. Chris Coffmon (KTM), 4. Jason Smith (GG)

250A: 1. Cary Eberts (KTM), 2. Mark McGrath (KTM) 3. Michael Jolly (Hsq), 4. Russ Cherry (Yam), 5. Nathan Saving (Kaw)

Open A: 1. John Grimm (Hon), 2. Tyler Jarvis (KTM), 3. Kevin Larson (KTM), 4. Robert Heinzerling (KTM), 5. Brian Rickard (KTM)

Vet A: 1. 1. Brian Sovak (Yam), 2. Marty Kehlmeier (KTM), 3. John Yerkey (KTM), 4. Keith Vermillion (Suz), 5. Brian Hollingshead (KTM)

Sr. A: 1. Wayne Perdue (KTM), 2. Jeff Johnson (Hus), 3. Mike Vancise (Yam), 4. Todd Ghearing (KTM), 5. Eric Houk (Hus)

S.SR.A: 1. Mark Lederle (KTM), 2. Robert McNeel (Yam), 3. Wally Wilson (KTM), 4. Roger Nichols (KTM), 5. Jim Kalleker (KTM)

200 B: 1. Cody Meeks (KTM), 2. Brad Graves (KTM)

250 B: 1. Andy Matheny (Hon), 2. Wyatt Brown (KTM), 3. Zac Thomas (GG), 4. Chris Knight (Kaw), 5. Brad Geyer (KTM)

Open B: 1. Travis Jarvis (KTM), 2. Dave Patterson (Hus), 3. Michael Copsey (KTM), 4. Grant Smith (KTM), 5. Kyle Harter (Hon)

Vet B: 1. 1. Sam Snellenberger (Hus), 2. Trent Gardner (KTM), 3. Greg Olenic (GG), 4. Shannon Bates (Hon), 5. Nick Fisher (KTM)

Sr. B: 1. Jim Miller (Yam), 2. Mark Thomas (KTM), 3. Robert Gorst (KTM), 4. Charles Chriswell (KTM), 5. Dino Colaianni (KTM)

S.SR. B: 1. Mark Best (KTM), 2. Ron Valdman (KTM), 3. Ron Miller (KTM), 4. Jeff Carpenter (Hon), 5. Jeff Anthony (KTM)

Masters: 1. Frank Erbe (KTM), 2. Marvin Popp (KTM), 3. Lennie Rhoades (KTM), 4. Albert Brown (Yam)

Schoolboy C: 1. Vinnie Petrella (KTM), 2. Levi Exline (KTM), 3. Logan Mullins (Hon), 4. Kelby Kisor (Hsq), 5. Jacob McManis (Kaw)

Open C: 1. Chuck Freeze (KTM), 2. Adam Clark (KTM), 3. Jade Smith (KTM), 4. Trent Thompson (KTM), 5. Nathan Bowe (Kaw)







