Appalachian Championship Enduro Series Round 9 Peace Pipe Enduro Treaty City MC Greenville, Ohio

November, 14 2010

"Klamfoth Takes No Prisoners at Treaty City"

By: Steve Wheeler

Zach Klamfoth (Yam), making his first ACES appearance of the year, topped a talented field and added his name to the prestigious Peace Pipe rotating trophy. Klamfoth's name will now be etched permanently alongside local and national enduro legends from the events 65 year history.

The Treaty City Motorcycle Club must have struck a deal with the weatherman too since they received just enough rain Saturday to quell the dust for the race. The unseasonable weather coupled with the chance to get one last ride in before the holiday madness begins sparked the fires of 180 riders, making this the biggest ACES event of the year.

The club did not disappoint the riders, putting together nearly 100 miles of trail more typical to neighboring District 15 (Indiana) events than to the norm in other Southern Ohio enduros. Imagine twisting and turning through tight pockets of woods laced with creek crossings, logs, bogs and the occasional glacial erratic (or was that a hedge apple?) all the while dropping precious minutes. Then, you pop out into a recently harvested corn field and climb on the main jet for what seems like an eternity (with 4-strokes at the rev limiter and 2-strokes wishing they had them) trying to make up a little time before that next pocket of woods and repeating the cycle. You soon realize these woods exist because the farmers don't want to treat their equipment as you are treating yours as you pass less fortunate riders wrestling with their bikes in a poorly chosen line.

As has been the case this fall in the ACES series, late numbers were a definite plus as the leaves were dusted off, berms established and bottlenecks were not a problem. All of the contenders were fortunate to find themselves above row 20 and Klamfoth's score of 9/349 earned him the win by 14 seconds over Nick Fahringer (Hsb). Nick is a local (nearby Dayton) here and was welcomed back from Mexico with his Six-Days Gold (individual) and Junior Trophy Bronze medal. With no conflicts with the NEPG series in 2011, perhaps we will see Nick and Zach contest for the ACES championship next year. Scores of 11 were carded by Trevor Kline (KTM -11/411), Robbie Jenks (GG – 11/424), Andrew Stokely (KTM – 11/444) and Overall A winner Brett Dubois (Hon 11/468) to round out the top 6.

In other A class action, Jeff Johnson's (Yam) 2nd in the Sr. A class behind Brent Floyd (KTM) was enough to propel him to the front of the class standings. Johnson had trailed Kevin Brown (KTM -3rd) and Todd Ghearing (KTM-5th) throughout the year, but when the dust settled and throw-aways tallied, he topped the class when it mattered most. Cary Eberts (KTM) took throw-aways out of the equation as he bested class contender Chuck Foust (KTM) by two points in the 200 A class to claim the series win.

Jeb Malarkey (KTM) topped the B ranks in his only ACES appearance of 2010, dropping 20 points to best newly crowned 250 B champ Tyler Chadwell (KTM) by one point. The closest battle of the 2010 season has been in the Super Sr. B class where four riders were separated by 10 points going into the final round and each had already used their throw-away. In the end, Ronnie Jarvis (KTM) moved from 6 points behind to a 3 point win as James White (Kaw) and Mark Best (KTM) placed themselves between him and Marvin Popp (KTM) giving Jarvis the edge.

ACES is a traditional format enduro series in Southern Ohio and would like to thank all of the riders as well as these sponsors for a successful 2010 season: Osburn Signs, MSR, Kenda, Rocky Outdoor Gear, Appalachian Offroad Motorcycles, Ohio Motorcycle, Beaver Creek Cycles, Sport Cycles of Athens and Lancaster, and Caton's Motorcycle Supply. We look forward to seeing everyone at the banquet on January 8th.

Results:

Overall: Zach Klamfoth (Yam) Overall A: Brett Dubois (Hon); Overall B: Jeb Malarkey (KTM)

AA: 1. Zach Klamfoth (Yam); 2. Nick Fahringer (Hsb); 3. Trevor Kline (KTM)

200A: 1. Cary Eberts (KTM); 2. Robert Heinzerling (KTM); 3. Chuck Foust (KTM)

250A: 1. Cody Mastin (Yam); 2. Colin Klier (KTM)

Open A: 1. John Grimm (Hon); 2. Bill Cavanagh; 3. Russ Cherry (Yam)

Vet A: 1. Brett Dubois (Hon); Andy Melton; 3. Doug Rinehart (KTM)

Sr. A: 1. Brent Floyd (KTM) 2. Jeff Johnson (Yam); 3. Kevin Brown (KTM)

S.Sr. A: 1. Scott Klamfoth (Yam); 2. Karl Fahringer (KTM); 3. Robert McNeel (Yam)
200 B: 1. Nathan Bidwell (KTM); 2. Brad Graves (KTM); 3. Kurt Evans (Kaw)
250 B: 1. Tyler Chadwell (KTM); 2. Randy Baker (Yam); 3. Kenny Hoyle (KTM)
Open B: 1. Jayson White; 2. Pat Patterson (KTM); 3. James Rinaldi (KTM)
Vet B: 1. Jeb Malarkey (KTM); 2. John Yerkey (KTM); 3. Greg Nottingham
Sr. B: 1. Matt Kelley (KTM); 2. Michael Huff (KTM); 3. Mark Adams
S. Sr. B: 1. Ronnie Jarvis (KTM); 2. James White (Kaw); 3. Mark Best (KTM)
C: 1. Ryan Gross (KTM); 2. Karl Whittaker (KTM); 3. Derek Bergman

Overall Event Winner - Zack Klamforth



## 200B Winner - Nathan Bidwell



## S. Sr. B Winner - Ronnie Jarvis

